Staff

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
Alan Marshall Senior Lecturer in Quantitative Methods. Director of Quantitative Methods & Edinburgh Q-Step Centre. Programme Director Social Research MSc Policy,Health policy,Social Determinants of Health,disability,retirement,Population ageing,Demography 2.12C (enter through 2.12A) Chrystal Macmillan Building
George Square
+44 (0)131 6511462
Alan.Marshall@ed.ac.uk
Valeria Skafida Lecturer in Social Policy - School Deputy Director of Quantitative Methods & Edinburgh Q-Step Centre Policy,Social capital,Anthropology of food,sociology of food,food,Public health,Children and childhood,families,Social Inequality,Nutrition,Quantitative Methods,Social surveys,Longitudinal Analysis,Sociology of health and illness,Health policy,Scotland,Domestic Violence 2.20 Chrystal Macmillan Building
0131 651 3215
valeria.skafida[at]ed.ac.uk
No Photo
Marzia Ballardin 6.16 Chrystal Macmillan Building
650 3920
mballar2@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Shaun Bevan Senior Lecturer in Quantitative Political Science Agenda-Setting,Public policy,interest groups,Public Opinion,political behaviour,Time Series Analysis,Event History Analysis,Measurement 2.13B Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 131 650 4128
Shaun.Bevan@ed.ac.uk
Ross Bond Senior Lecturer in Sociology Ethnicity & 'race',Scotland,higher education,national identity,migration 5.08 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3919
R.J.Bond@ed.ac.uk
Jan Eichhorn Senior Lecturer in Social Policy Subjective well-being,Political participation,Social capital,Social surveys,Multilevel analyses,Political Culture,Voting age reduction,Civic education,Economic policy,Unemployment 1.03 - 22 George Square
+44 (0)131 651 1382
Jan.Eichhorn@ed.ac.uk
Vernon Gayle Professor of Sociology and Social Statistics Social Stratification,Social statistics,Sociology of youth,Sociology of Education,Migration studies,Fertility,Sociology of Sport,Large and complex datasets,Social surveys,Administrative Data 3.08
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)1316504069
vernon.gayle@ed.ac.uk
Tod Van Gunten Lecturer in Economic Sociology Economic Sociology,Political Sociology,Comparative/Historical Sociology,Social network analysis,International development,Globalization,Sociological Theory,Quantitative Methods,Qualitative Research Methods,Mixed methods research in social sciences 6.10 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 131 650 4637
tvangun@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Ailsa Henderson Professor of Political Science political behaviour,political culture,Regionalism,voting and elections,comparative territorial politics,UK,Scotland,Quebec-Scotland comparisons,European values,Public opinion and Political attitudes 3.09 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 1618
ailsa.henderson@ed.ac.uk
Christine Huebner Citizenship,Political participation,Political identities and citizenship,Youth participation,Political Culture,Quantitative Methods,methodological innovations Christine.Huebner@ed.ac.uk
Cristina Iannelli Personal Chair of Education and Social Stratification; Co-Director ‘Understanding Inequalities’ project; Research Lead in the Institute of Education, Community and Society (IECS), Moray House School of Education c.iannelli@ed.ac.uk
Alexander Janus Lecturer in Quantitative Methods and Sociology Family Eldercare,Long-Term Services and Supports,Quantitative Methods 6.20 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)7454 922590 (cell); +44 (0)131 651 3965 (office)
alex.janus@ed.ac.uk
Gitit Kadar-Satat Research Associate, Q-Step's Placements and Outreach Supervisor Sociology of Education,Social Stratification,Social Inequalities in Leisure and Time-Use,Quantitative analysis of large-scale surveys,Longitudinal Analysis,Mixed methods 4.12 Chrystal Macmillan Building
+44 (0)131 6511 503
gkadars@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Ruth King Professor, School of Mathematics Ruth.King@ed.ac.uk
Alison Koslowski Professor of Social Policy and Research Methods - Deputy Head of Social Policy Labour Market,Family Policy,care,fathers and fatherhood,surveys,Gender,Parental Leaves,circadian rhythms,sleep,basic income 2.05 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
alison.koslowski@ed.ac.uk
Sarah Liu Lecturer in Gender and Politics gender,women's and social movements,women's political representation,women's political participation,migration and citizenship,media,East Asian politics B.2 22 George Square
sarah.liu@ed.ac.uk
Alice Dias Lopes Career Development Fellow in Quantitative Methods Social Stratification,Social Mobility,Education,inequality and social mobility,Sociology of Education,Latin America,Brazil,Quantitative Methods 4F1
21 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0) 131 651 1364
adiaslo@exseed.ed.ac.uk
John MacInnes Professor of Sociology; Associate Dean Quantitative Methods, CHSS Quantitative Methods,Research methodology,Social statistics,social demography,Population ageing,Fertility,Mortality,Gender Theory,Work-Life balance,Labour Market,National Identity,Scotland,Catalonia,Spain,Malawi 5.05 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 3867
John.MacInnes@ed.ac.uk
Susan McVie Professor of Quantitative Criminology, School of Law s.mcvie@ed.ac.uk
Paul Norris Associate Dean of Progression, College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences; Senior Lecturer in Social Policy Criminology,Quantitative Methods,Quantitative Research,comparative social policy,Policing,Prisons,International perspectives on imprisonment 3.01 St John's Land
Holyrood Road
+44 (0)131 6503922
P.Norris@ed.ac.uk
Ugur Ozdemir Lecturer in Quantitative Political Science Comparative Political Behavior,Spatial Models of Elections,Quantitative Methods,Positive Political Theory 2.13c (Enter through 2.13a) Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3990
Ugur.Ozdemir@ed.ac.uk
Lindsay Paterson Professor of Education Policy Sociology of Education,Scottish Politics,Quantitative Methods in Social Research,Education Policy 2.02
22 George Square
+44 (0) 131 651 6380
lindsay.paterson@ed.ac.uk
Michael Rosie Senior Lecturer in Sociology; Programme Director, Nationalism Studies The Sociology of Scotland,Secularisation,nationalism,Religious Identity,national identity,Nationalism and National Identity,Sectarianism,Politics and Religion,Loyalism,unionism 1.01
22 George Square
+44 (0)131 651 1651
m.j.rosie@ed.ac.uk
Andrew Thompson Chair of Public Policy and Citizenship Quantitative Methods,Public policy,Citizenship,perception measurement,surveys,statistical analysis,involvement,Participation,European Union,Health policy 3.28 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 1562
andrew.thompson@ed.ac.uk
Gil Viry Lecturer spatial mobility,Family relationship,space and spatiality,Social network analysis,life course research,Quantitative Methods 3.09
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 651 5768; Twitter: @gil_viry
gil.viry@ed.ac.uk
Pamela Warner Reader in Medical Statistics, Usher Institute of Population Health Sciences and Informatics, College of Medicine and Veterinary Medicine pamela.warner@ed.ac.uk
Shaina Western Lecturer in International Relations and Quantitative Methods organizations and institutions,Human rights,International Law & International Relations,Quantitative Methods B.08
19 George Square
swestern@exseed.ed.ac.uk